Decaying Villa

Posted on October 7, 2013. Filed under: Italy, Photography, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , |

Photography - Decaying Villa 2             Photography - Decaying Villa 1

This was a crumbling villa in the picturesque little town of Orta San Giulio, Italy.  These decaying villas are all over Italy.  This one was fun to inspect close up.  I love how the ferns have made themselves at home on the roof.  I can’t help but imagine what lives were lived in these walls.  And how could such a spectacular home right on Lake Orta stand abandoned?  Like anything, I guess, the funds to keep it up got to be too great.  I find it beautiful even in its decay.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

7 Responses to “Decaying Villa”

RSS Feed for Lavish Living Comments RSS Feed

That is sad, that there are crumbling villas. In the uk it seems like the high property prices have kept sites like this to a minimum.

I know, I would think a villa like this on a lake in Italy would be a property of such value it would always be kept up, but alas, no. And we saw a fair amount on our trip. I did like inspecting it, though. Would have really liked to go in and walk around, but the doors were barred with thick iron bars.

Did you think about buying it yourself?

Oh, that I could. I can’t even imagine the money needed to buy it, but then the renovations! Maybe when I win the lottery.

We can all hope.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...